• Western Australia’s mining sector a significant contribution to our State and national economy. Image courtesy of Rovis Media
  • Market Outlook 2018 - a Resources Perspective was a sell out. We heard expert commentary and insights on how our industry is performing in terms of our investment profile. Image courtesy of Rovis Media.
  • Image courtesy of Rovis Media
  • We feature keynote speakers from mining companies and industry experts at our monthly luncheons who share their views on industry trends and topics relevant to mining.
  • Our luncheons feature a new guest speaker each month. Raleigh Finlayson (Saracen) presented at the October 2016 luncheon.
  • Book your seat at our luncheons, held monthly.
  • The West Australian Mining Club was formed in Perth in 1972 by industry professionals who felt there was a need for regular interaction at a social and technical level for a wider cross section of industry personnel than was catered for by the then existing societies.
  • Book your seat at our luncheons, held monthly.
  • WA Mining Club presents the Education Series – a panel discussion on industry topics.
  • WA Mining Club presents the Education Series – a panel discussion on industry topics.

Connecting the WA mining industry

The West Australian Mining Club (WAMC) was formed in 1972 by a group of dedicated Perth based industry professionals who recognised the value of meeting regularly to network and discuss industry issues.

Members include leaders from mining companies and associated industries including geologists, engineers, metallurgists, accountants, economists, lawyers, journalists, government representatives, university researchers, technical representatives, drilling company representatives, suppliers and more. The Club always welcomes new members.

Meet the Committee

  • Kirsty Danby
    President and Marketing

    Kirsty is Founder and Director of Platform Communications, and has more than 18 years’ experience in corporate communications, marketing and public relations in the resources sector. A committee member since 2013, Kirsty manages the Club’s marketing activities.

  • Neil Watson
    Vice President

    Neil has over 30 years extensive experience in providing insurance and risk management solutions to mining and allied industries. Neil was elected President in 2010 and has been appointed as Vice President for 2017.

  • Ian Skelton

    Ian is a partner with Deloitte, and has an extensive background in the resources industry.  Ian joined the committee in 2014 and is the club treasurer.

  • Damian Quail


    Damian adopts a pragmatic approach with a strong focus on ensuring his advice adds value to his client’s businesses. Finding solutions to a problem and ensuring legal advice is an enabler of a transaction, rather than a barrier to completing a deal, is foremost in Damian’s approach

  • Damian Connelly

    Damian is a consulting engineer with over 30 years’ experience in the resource sector. Damian joined the WAMC committee in 2011 and assists with organising the student scholarships. Damian retains his position on the 2016 committee.

  • Craig Hook

    Craig is an experienced corporate advisor and executive coach built on over twenty years international, senior management of large and small resource companies. Craig has been actively involved in the Club since 2005 and joined the 2014 committee in the marketing portfolio. He will be responsible for managing the Club’s membership portfolio in 2017

  • Kristie Young

    Kristie is Business Development Director Mining @EY. She began her career as a Mining Engineer over 20 years ago. Kristie is an Associate of Curtin University, UQ Perth EAIT Alumni Ambassador, CME Gender Diversity Reference Group committee member & is a graduate of the AICD. She is a mentor with WIMWA, WASMA & WAMC. Kristie sits in the WAMC Marketing portfolio & Scholarship portfolio, and was WAMC Treasurer in 2006 & 2007

  • Peter Bradford
    General Committee

    Peter is a senior executive with over 35 years’ experience in gold and base metals mining operations, exploration and development.  He is keen to utilise his broad industry network and knowledge combined with understanding of governance and strategy and an interest in advancing the next generation of students, graduates and professionals

  • Sharon Goddard

    Sharon joined Gold Road in June 2011 and has more than 20 years’ experience in mining, agribusiness and legal.

    Her responsibilities include managing corporate aspects of the organisation, external affairs, native title, marketing and day-to-day operations.

  • Viv Roberts
    General Committee

    Viv has over 30 years’ experience in mining covering owner operator and contractor managed operations. He has exposure to most commodities and is currently consulting as VR Mining Services. Viv has served on the Mining Club committee previously assisting on the Scholarship and Marketing Committees